Under current Idaho law, an individual charged with possession of up to an ounce of marijuana faces a year in jail and/or up to a $1,000 fine …
This year, Wyoming did not introduce any bills that would have provided full access to medical marijuana. Rep. James Byrd did introduce a bill to replace criminal penalties for marijuana possession with “a more sensible civil fine in 2016,” but it did not advance.
3. South Dakota
South Dakota has some of the nation’s harshest marijuana laws, with possession of just a small amount carrying a potential penalty of one year in jail and a $2,000 fine. Additionally, possession of any amount of hash or concentrates is “a felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.”
Under current Utah law, possession of as little as an ounce or less of marijuana can result in a six-month jail sentence. Unfortunately, minority and low-income communities in Utah are disproportionately the ones who face these archaic penalties.
Kansas did introduce a bill that would provide in-state access for medical marijuana patients, but didn’t manage to get it passed. Nevertheless, it was a step forward for Kansas, since medical marijuana laws have never managed to get a favorable vote in either chamber before this year.